Get To Know Rising Atlanta Artist Rod$ta

Gabriel "Bonni3" Comfort
3 min readMay 10, 2021

--

Rising 23 y/o rapper from Zone 4 Atlanta, Ga Rod$ta has been making a lot of noise lately with his catchy vibes & energetic performances. The part Trinidadian artist is a graduate from Clemson University with a degree in Computer Engineering. Rod$ta began to develop a love for music at a very young age, because of his Dad and three older sisters. His Dad had him hip to all the old school music while his sisters had me hip to the current popular music. Their taste in alternative genres really shaped Rod$ta to be a fan of all music not just rap. Rod$ta is a part of a collective label named 4$ound. Their first concert was at the Masquerade in Atlanta with about 100 people in attendance. With unreleased music with Taurus from YSL, Rainman, BeatDilla, and Nastradomas it is safe to say there’s a lot in store for Rod$ta! We connected with him to ask him a few questions about his music.

WHAT MADE YOU GET INTO MUSIC?

2. I started doing music when I was in High School. My friends Just Khai, Nastradomas, ZeKe, and Kelvin were all rapping at the time, and that’s who I hung out with everyday. At first I was heavily focused on baseball, but as I continued to be around it I gained more and more curiosity towards it. I started off making beats on my phone in the GarageBand app on my phone, later I acquired the Logic Pro X application on my mac. I then coined myself as a producer. Time went on and I finally tried to hop on a track and my friends were shocked at how good it was. Recording was enjoyable so I started to do it almost everyday and from there on out I started to rap and make beats.

DESCRIBE YOUR SOUND?

3. My sound is very versatile. I could produce a trap song, a love song, a pop song, or a rock song. I have a very melodic flow with catchy and witty punchlines, original cadences, and euphoric beats.

WHO ARE SOME MAJOR ARTISTS YOU LOOK UP TO?

4. I’m inspired by Kid Cudi because of his deep and melodic lyrics. Tame Impala for it’s euphoric and chill sound. Kendrick Lamar for his dope music videos.

WHERE DO YOU SEE YOUR BRAND IN THE NEXT 5 YEARS?

5. In 5 years, I see my brand being everywhere. I see the streetwear and skate community really embracing the addition to the culture that I’m bringing. Not only will my brand be music, but it will also be fashion.

WHAT CAN WE EXPECT FROM YOU IN THE NEAR FUTURE?

6. In the future, you can expect more merch from me. All types of items. You can expect more songs with different producers. Also can expect more songs with features. Be on the lookout for a streetwear boutique opening up in the Midtown area of Atlanta as well.

--

--